Stroud: A town with nothing to do

I dragged Stuart out last weekend for an afternoon adventure. There is not much to do here in Swindon, so to get the most out of my weekends I like to go somewhere, even if it is a small town close by. I did some research and found Stroud. It is part of the Cotswolds, which are “an area known for outstanding beauty.” They are small charming towns that have been used in movies for their “romantic feel.” Stroud is not one of these: it is the awkward stepsister of the group. We pulled up into the town on Sunday and there was no one in sight. Nothing was open. No tourists were found anywhere. And “must see sites” were underwhelming. I guess that is how it goes when you visit ANYPLACE after going to Oxford. We spent probably an hour walking around, then left. But, we did enjoy an afternoon of sunshine, which is rare this time of year.

Downtown Stroud…

My one dorky picture. Stuart was embarrassed to take it, but I thought it necessary. I HAD TO HAVE a picture in the flowers…

Unfortunately, the youth here finds it entertaining to graffiti everything.

We stumbled upon this old bridge as we were making our way to the train station.

The countryside here is beautiful though. It is so quite and peaceful, it invites you to take a nap on the grassy fields. You can actually walk through people’s property here. There are gates and trails in every field with not a single “no trespassing sign” to be found.

Stroud wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t what I expected. Next time I will take what the Chamber of Commerce says about a city with a grain of salt.

Leave a comment